Posted by: oysterculture | January 24, 2009

Homemade – the recipes

When I posted on homemade cooking, I identified some of the homemade products I made for the holidays.  Here are a few of the recipes that were requested as well as my notes. 

homemade jam and jelly

homemade jam and jelly

 For my jam and jelly – I got the inspiration from this wonderful book:  175 Best Jams, Jellies, Marmalades & other Soft Spreads by Linda J. Amendt

Pineapple Rum Jam

Makes about six 8oz (250 mL) jars

  • 3 cans (each 20oz/567 mL) juice packed crushed pineapple, very well drained
  • 1/3 cup lemon juice
  • 1 package (1.75 oz) regular powdered fruit pectin
  • 5 cup sugar divided
  • 1/2 tsp butter (optional)
  • 1/3 c rum

Prepare canning jars and lids and bring water in water bath canner to boil

In 8 quart (8L) stainless steel stockpot, combine pineapple and lemon juice

In a small bowl combine pectin and 1/4 c (50mL) of sugar; gradually add to fruit and add butter if using.

Bring fruit mixture to a full rolling boil over medium high heat, stirring constantly.  Gradually stir in remaining sugar.  Return to rolling boil, stirring constantly, and boil for 1 minute.

Remove from heat and skim off any foam.  Stir in rum.  Let jam cool in pot for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Ladle jam into hot jars, leaving 1/4 ” (.5 cm) head-space.  Remove any air bubbles.  Wipe jar rims and threads with a clean, damp towel.  Center hot lids on jars and screw on bands to fingertip tight.

Place jars in canner, they must be covered by 1 ” (2.5 cm) of water.  Bring to boil.  Process for 10 minutes.

Remove jars from canner and place on wire rack or towel.  Let cool for 24 hours , then check seals.  Store in cool, dry, dark location.

 NOTES:

  • I liked this jam better not using crushed pineapple.  I preferred the more “rustic” feel of cutting the pineapple up into randomly sized pieces to spread. 
  • You must have well drained pineapple.  The first time I made this jam, I probably could have drained it more and it did not set to a jam-like consistency.  It was more of a spread – still very edible.
  • I liked spiced rum in the jam, and for the second batch I used a 1/2 c which did not affect the consistency but increased the rum taste.
  • The small bit of butter that is added reduces the foam that may develop when you make the jam.

 

Cabernet Sauvignon Jelly

 Makes about six 8oz (250 mL) jars

  • 33/4 c (925 mL) Cabernet Sauvignon wine
  • 6 c (1.5L) sugar
  • 2 pouches (each 3oz/ 85mL)  liquid pectin

Prepare canning jars and lids and bring water in water bath canner to boil

In 4 quart (4L) stainless steel stockpot, combine wine and sugar.  Heat over medium heat, stirring constantly, until sugar is dissolved.  Continue heating until tiny bubbles form on the bottom of the pan.  Do not let the wine boil.

Remove from heat and quickly stir in pectin.  Stir constantly until pectin is completely dissolved and distributed in the jelly, about 1 minute.  Quickly skim of any foam.

Ladle jam into hot jars, leaving 1/4 ” (.5 cm) head-space.  Wipe jar rims and threads with a clean, damp towel.  Center hot lids on jars and screw on bands to fingertip tight.

Place jars in canner, they must be covered by 1 ” (2.5 cm) of water.  Bring to boil.  Process for 10 minutes.

Remove jars from canner and place on wire rack or towel.  Let cool for 24 hours , then check seals.  Store in cool, dry, dark location.

 NOTES:

  • This jam is wonderful on toast or as an accompaniment to a cheese plate with washed rind, triple cream cheese.   The color is such a beautiful shade of deep red.

 

Cowboy Candy

I read about this recipe on Chowhound and knew I had to try.  My mom introduced me to red pepper jelly, cream cheese and crackers as an appetizer, which I found addicting, and I suspected this spread would fall in the same category.  I was so right.

Makes ~ 1 cup

  • 1 1/4 c sliced jalapenos (seeded)
  • 1/2 c  granulated sugar
  • 1/4 c water

Add everything to a small sauce pan, bring to a boil.  Simmer for about 20 minutes and then add contents to a jar.

NOTES:

  • When you make this recipe – wear gloves.  If you happen to nick yourself, as I did, you are in for a very unpleasant experience. 
  • Double the recipe – you’ll thank me – you will go through this stuff so fast!
  • This spread is wonderful with cream cheese on toast or crackers. 
  • I like my food hot, so I like to leave extra seeds in the mix to keep some heat. 
  • I also like to add some other variety of peppers to mix up the flavor and the heat. 
  • The recipe calls for adding a bit of food coloring.  I skipped it, the green might not be as vivid, but still presentable.
Responses

  1. Thanks so much for posting these recipes! They’re awesome!

  2. My pleasure, if you make them, please let me know what you think.

  3. They certainly sound more grown-up than the Smuckers raspberry jam I currently use.

  4. They do add a certain je ne sais quoi to the occassion =)

  5. oh, thank you for posting these! The cab jelly does sound like the perfect accompaniment to a cheese plate!

  6. It certainly is, and as you are in a great place to get some wonderful cheeses, you might really appreciate the paring.


Leave a Reply

Categories

